A personal journey towards God, Divine Love, Divine truth, humility, desire, healing, and my Soul

Deconstructing Self Punishment

Self punishment is something I am really good at and something I am currently tackling , the following post is from my sister Mary Magdaline. Mary’s story is a beautiful gift to me and anyone who desires to truly work their way through self punishment.
It is with much gratitude to Mary that I reblog Mary’s post.
Love Denise

Notes Along The Way

I’ve written in the past about my own issues with self punishment and many people still ask me about it.

Over the years I’ve done a lot to work on this issue. The first thing that really helped me was to begin to view self punishment as an addiction; a device to help me avoid my fears. I began to treat my self attack as something that had no future, could never be ‘felt enough’ in order to be released and decided that I just needed to halt it in its tracks whenever it began to happen.

To a small extent this helped but as with any major addiction until I was willing to deconstruct the false beliefs driving my justification for holding on to it, and to soften to the feelings I was using it to cover, I didn’t have much success. And the success I have had in…

View original post 646 more words

Leave a Reply

